The 2014 Achieving the Dream Scholarship Program

Planning for the 2014 ATD Scholarship Program is Underway

Sign up for our distribution list to receive notification when the application period opens as well as other scholarship updates and FCHCC news.

Subscribe NOW!


The 2013 Achieving the Dream Scholarship Program

Congratulations to the 2013 ATD Recipients!

Walter Angelica
Frances Rivera-Pacheco
Leslie Echt
Dainelis Rodriguez
Richard Gibaja
Sonia SanJuan
Rebeca Leon
Cassandra Santiago-Alejandro
Isabel Nunez
Sophia Serrao
Alessandra Paratore
Camila Ubalde
Rafael Pichardo
Rodrigo Vilaro

Our 2013 ATD Recipients were honored at a luncheon held on October 11, 2013. View pictures from the VIP Reception by clicking here!


Thank you to all our applicants who applied, FCHCC wishes you good luck in your future studies.


"Achieving the Dream" Success Stories

Share the stories of our past recipients of the Achieving the Dream Scholarship! Also, if you'd like to add your story, please contact us by clicking here.

"To Whom It May Concern":
 ...I would like to thank Mayor's Hispanic American Advisory Board and the First Coast Hispanic Chamber of Commerce for giving me the opportunity to continue my education with the Achieving the Dream Scholarship I have received.


Past Achieving the Dream Recipients

2012 Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2012
Achieving the Dream Scholarship Winners
Francisco Borrallo Perez
Graciela Mundac
Grace Dahlstrom 
Alexandra Nunez
Brianna Falcon 
Jessica Ribado
Lisha Lopez
Nancy Robayo


Our 2011 Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2011
Achieving the Dream Scholarship Winners
Sophia Array
Monika Gonzalez Kroll
Amber Boyette
Nicolas Lara
Chedly Broche
Joseph Segis Muslimani
Dimelza Broche
Oscar Vives Ortiz
Shirley Castillo
Jose Barrientos Restrepo
Gianinna Cooper
Nancy Robayo
Carolina Garcia
Diana Rojas
Michael M. Gropper
Katherine Thanos
Mariel Hammond
Karina Alexandra Vargas


What Our Past Recipients Have Said...

To the First Coast Hispanic Chamber, 

I would like to express my sincerest gratitude to all involved in the Achieving the Dream Scholarship. I'm honored to have been chosen for this prestigious award and I thank all members. This scholarship has been very helpful in achieving my dream of graduating from the University of Florida and becoming a doctor. This dream of mine will help better the Hispanic community as well; I hope to one day provide medical care to the underrepresented Hispanic members of society. I'm once again very thankful for this award.  

Thank you for all you do. 
- Monika Gonzalez, 2011 Recipient 

"I am writing to express my sincere gratitude to the First Coast Hispanic Chamber of Commerce for making the "Achieving the Dream" scholarship possible. I was thrilled to learn of my selection for this honor and I am deeply appreciative of your support with my education... I know that my grandmother, who sadly passed away in 2005, would be proud to know that her granddaughter has been recognized by the Hispanic community, since it had always been her dream for my sister and I to stay involved in Hispanic customs and traditions. It fills me with the greatest happiness to know that I would have made her proud of me, no matter if she is not here to see me achieve my goals now and in the future. Needless to say, my parents are very happy and grateful as well... I feel deep pride now more than ever in my Hispanic background, and promise to never forget where I came from."  - Mariel Ada Hammond, 2011 Recipient

"I want to thank each and everyone of you who are in involve in the Achieving the Dream Scholarship.As the mother of Joseph Muslimani, I just want to say that you as a group came as a gift from heaven because I was trying to figure how I could pay for his food this year.Once again Dios nos comprueba que aprieta pero no ahorca; EL pone sus angelitos en nuestro camino.By the way, Joseph has all A'S thus far. Thanks!" - Maria Orduna-Muslimani, mother of 2011 scholarship recipient, Joseph Muslimani

"I would like to thank the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, the 'Achieving the Dream' scholarship program and its' sponsors - not only for awarding me this scholarship but for recognizing the Hispanic Community in a positive way and allowing have new opportunities to be opened for students liked myself. It is both an honor and a privilege that I accept this award. This scholarship will truly help me achieve my dreams and allow me to help others achieve their dreams. Thank you."
-Raquel Aida Hernandez - 2010 Recipient

"I'm very thankful about this investment in my education. I will do my best to honor the Hispanic community."
-Gianinna Cooper - 2010 Recipient

"I'm extremely excited and honored to be one of the students selected. I'm grateful because this gives me an opportunity to continue chasing my dream and also allows me to someday be an inspirational tool for those who come after me. I'm proud to be able to represent the Hispanic community in Jacksonville and all over the world. Once again, I greatly appreciate being selected. With more students dropping out of school due to finances than to academics, this definitely helps out tremendously."
-Oscar Ortiz – 2010 Recipient

"The second I heard I was selected for this award I was overwhelmed by happiness. Being at the only school the offers my major in state means that if I can't afford to stay here, I can't afford to follow my dream. It's such an honor to be selected; I've been relieved knowing that financial shortcomings are little by little making less of an impact on my ability to get my diploma. Thank you."
-Jessica Ribado - 2010 Recipient

"I am very grateful and feel honored to be selected as a scholarship recipient. A formal education is a necessity in this day and age. This organization plays a critical role in making my dream a reality. Thank you very much for investing in my future."
-Diego Molina – 2010 Recipient

"Unfortunately, after serving our community through a non-proift organization for the last three years, my husband and I have been laid off due to the current economy situation. I have been out of work for more than 10 months...this scholarship will help me achieve my goals. I really appreciate so much this opportunity and I hope that Foundation can continue helping more students like me. "
 - Sincerely, C. Angelica – 2010 Recipient

"Hola Ed.

It was so nice seeing you yesterday. I was very happy to talk with you again. Yesterday I didn't have the opportunity to let you know that right now I am part of a juried exhibition for emerging artists with disabilities. I am the grand prize winner in this exhibition entitled "Momentum". which opened September 7 at the S. Dillon Ripley Center in Washington DC. Here is a link about the exhibition. 

I really want to let you know that I am trying my best to achieve my goals and I sincerely want to thank you for being an inspiration to me." 
- Dimelza Broche